The Art Of Satipatnamthana Meditation

satipatthana meditation: a practice guide

Satipatnamthana or Situ Padmini is a form of non-stressful meditation. It aims to bring the practitioner to a powerful sense of inner balance and peace by allowing him to concentrate on the present moment. The practice involves three key stages: beginning, middle, and end. It is a mind-body exercise developed by Udayinjayanti Sundaram, founder of the Yoga Institute in London. This article will provide you with an introduction to this ancient form of Yoga.

Stages Of Satpatnamthana Meditation 

A man sitting on a bench in front of a sunset

The first stage starts with very light stretching and relaxation exercises. Practicing is often done asanas or controlled postures. The practitioner focuses only on these movements, avoiding thoughts and other distractions. He may visualize sounds, nature images, spiritual words or any other thoughts that pass through his mind. Visiting a lot of holy places such as temples or cemeteries is part of the training. The texts and verses from these places act as a meditation aid.

The second stage, which is also called the resting or shini Prajnaparam, allows the mind to experience stillness for a short while. In this state, the body becomes relaxed and shakti, or the power of attraction, is allowed to take over. The meditative breathing techniques are used to increase oxygen intake and to improve blood circulation. It is also important to increase digestive efficiency in order to properly empty the bowels.

The third stage or Asanajiva Prajnaparam is usually practiced after a while, when the mind has already become fully awake and alert. This is considered as the deepest stage. The practitioner fully focuses on each breath, concentrating on positive and constructive thoughts. Visualization techniques are used, as well as conscious control over the physical body. Visualizing oneself healthy, wealthy, successful, and having abundant energy allows the mind to achieve these thoughts.

The fourth and final stage, Asavasana, is the most challenging state to meditate in. Here, the body experiences yet another change. The practitioner becomes heavier and larger, due to the heavy concentration and deep relaxation achieved during Asanajiva meditation. This is the state where full understanding and control over the body and mind come into being.

Benefits Of Satpatnamthana Meditation

A person taking a selfie

This stage allows the mind to take over completely, so that it starts thinking and believing about God. Up to this point, the mind has already started sending positive thoughts to all the five senses. This encourages faith, as well as a stronger and better spiritual life. Practitioners often feel refreshed and totally peaceful. However, if they haven’t yet mastered the techniques, they may find their physical body growing weak. They can also start to feel nauseous.

Practitioners are not allowed to eat anything solid or drink any liquids after reaching this state. However, they can use their stomach as a cushion against hard objects and still maintain good posture. They should not lie down, but rather should try to stay standing as long as possible.

This process of mediation is known as Japa Meditation. It helps a practitioner get in touch with his spiritual side. This is very important to ensure the overall well-being. Some other benefits include mental and physical stimulation, relaxation, improvement of concentration and alertness. This is the basic practice of Satipatnamthana and it should be learned by anyone who wishes to experience the benefits.

Positions Using For This Type Of Meditation

There are different positions that can be used for Japa meditation. The first one is sitting in Siddhasana or simply sitting in meditation. Then there is Ananda, which is the front position and involves placing the feet under the buttocks and holding the legs up on the thighs. In Prasarita Padottanasana, or the back position, the student sits cross-legged and holds the legs with the arms hanging down. However, some schools prefer to perform the meditation in the third position, which is called Trikonasana. This involves the student with his knees tucked under his feet and with the body close to the ground.

The final and most advanced stage of Satipatnamthana is Raja stage. This is the stage where the student focuses on the inner self. He should remain in a meditative state and not attempt to move. If the body feels heavy, then that’s the time to move. This state of mind is also called Self-Contemplation or Self-Satisfaction.

Last Words

During Raja stage, the student tries to understand the changing essence of life. He tries to understand how all the events in his life affect his mind and his actions. His movements should be inspired by compassion, not by thought of revenge or harming others. The ultimate aim of the practice is to let go and be free from the cycle of birth and death.

Subscribe to our monthly Newsletter
Subscribe to our monthly Newsletter